Beliefs for Food

I am a person who no longer practices active religion, but I still believe. I eat the foods that I want to. But I try to keep to a healthier diet with fruits, vegetables, meats, and balanced sugars, carbs, and sodium. If I do stay away from anything, I don’t eat mushrooms because the texture is more like rubber to me. My mom shares this same dislike for mushrooms while my boyfriend loves to eat mushrooms because they are healthy to eat.


This Photo by Unknown Author is licensed under CC BY-NC

   

When I was practicing, there was a certain time of the year that I should not eat meat. But I normally did not keep track of the time and I would end up eating what I would eat. The older generations in my family still practice this every single year. My family also refrains from eating meat at least one other time of the year. But I am not sure when this is because I have not practiced the religion openly since I was 15 making that more than 6 years ago. The days that my family refrains from eating meat are called Ash Wednesday which is a preparation time for Easter. All the Fridays that occur during Lent with people over the age of 14 are supposed to not eat meat (Richert, 2019).

I do not have any cultural beliefs as to why I would not or would eat something. I usually eat 95 percent of what was or is put in front of me on the plate. My parents raised me to not be a picky eater, finish what was in front of me so I could get a dessert if I wanted one.

References

Richert, S. P. (2019, April 28). Abstinence as spiritual discipline. Why do Catholics abstain from meat on Fridays? Retrieved from https://www.learnreligions.com/abstinence-as-spiritual-discipline-542184#:~:text=Current%20Church%20Law%20Regarding%20Abstinence&text=On%20Ash%20Wednesday%20and%20all,from%20foods%20made%20with%20meat.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started